Familiar faces in winners circle

By Mike Hughes

News Main Photo

Hobby Stock feature winner, #10 Cody Graham, Hays

     All five feature winners in their respective divisions were familiar faces as they pulled into the winners circle at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, on Friday evening, August 5.

     Troy Plummer of Oakley led all 20 laps in the Teels Trucks IMCA Modified feature for his second win of the season at the 3/8-mile oval. The top 6 were close throughout the entire race, and a couple of cautions gave several drivers a shot at Plummer, but he was up to the task and held on to the checkers. Shannon Maughlin won the battle for the runner-up spot, followed by John Fose, ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick and Marty Clark. Plummer and Ronnie Hill won the two heat races.

     Jay Hachmeister of Lenora was looking for a clean sweep in the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car class. After winning the second heat race and the Oldham Sales cash dash, Hachmeister jumped to the lead in the 20-lap main event. But Jason Davis got past Hachmeister on lap 4 to take the top spot. The lone caution waved on lap 14, and Davis led the field back to green, trailed by Eric Kinderknecht, ‘Racin’ Jason Schoenberger, Terry Cunningham, and first heat winner Bruce Plumisto. But point leader Schoenberger, of Gorham, got under Davis on lap 16 to take the lead he would hold the remaining distance for his sixth trip to victory lane at Hays this season. Davis, Plumisto, Cunningham, and Jason Rogers rounded out the top five.

     The Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Sport Mod feature saw Kaid Calhoon jump to the lead on the opening lap, but on lap 7, heat one victor ‘Flyin’ Bryan Lariviere of Wichita got under Calhoon to take command. Lariviere led the rest of the way for his eighth win, but heat two winner Blaine Walt closed in on Lariviere late in the race but had to settle for second. Clayton Wilson finished third, followed by Trenton Kleweno and Tanner Portenier.

     The Lock N Load IMCA Hobby Stock feature saw the caution flag wave as often as the green. The race started off with Robert Emmons rolling off the backstretch. Emmons was okay and even returned to the race one lap down. Dustin Donaldson led the opening lap before Cody Graham took a lead he would not relinquish. The numerous cautions gave several drivers a shot at Graham, but he was up to the task to score his second victory at his hometown track. Kent Tammen finished second, followed by point leader G.W. ‘Cheeseburger’ Fuller, heat one winner ‘Leadfoot’ Luke Pfannenstiel, Jacob Crowell and Cody Ghumm. Heat two winner Aaron Honas was sixth.

     Point leader and heat one winner Dave Juenemann of Victoria took the lead from Dean Herzog on lap 8 of the 12-lap Steel Fabrications IMCA Sport Compact feature to notch his fifth win. Kirk Pfannenstiel, Vincent Jasper, Monte Honas, and Herzog completed the top five. Donnie Werth was victorious in the other heat race.

     It was ‘Ladies Night’ with all ladies admitted free to the grandstand.

     The evening’s race sponsor was Gib’s Auto Supply of Hays and Lacrosse, your NAPA auto parts dealer.

     Racing returns to RPM Speedway on Friday, August 19. All five regular divisions return, and the school buses return as well. It will also be ‘Faster Pastor Night’ with 7 area pastors in competition. Race time will be 7:30 p.m.