Fall Nationals

Speeway to honor firefighters, those affected by wildfires

Top Story Photo
Officials at RPM Speedway in Hays watched as hard-working Kansans answered the call to battle wildfires in early March in many areas of the state. More than 700,000 acres were burned in Kansas, and many families lost homes, livestock and fences to the blazes. On April 22, RPM Speedway is offering free general admission to all those who were affected by the wildfires. Those affected by the recent fires, including first responders, firefighters and families, can get into the grandstands that evening for free.   “The racing community is a tight-knit bunch that supports each other throughout the racing season,” said RPM Speedway President Glenn Unrein. “We know there have been numerous people who have been impacted by the recent fires throughout the state, and we’re just trying to do our part to let those people know we are there to support them and thank them for their efforts.” RPM Speedway is celebrating its 12th year of dirttrack racing in...

////////// More story